The Swiss van Java

Troy Agung
2 min readFeb 2, 2021

--

Hola Medium,

Let’s talk about Garut, a small district near Bandung, West Java. One of the most visited places for short escape especially people from Jakarta and nearby. Garut has some interesting places to visit and Cipanas is one of the most popular. That’s why Garut becomes very crowded at the weekend especially when it’s a long holiday.

People called this place Swiss van Java due to its similar surrounding as Swiss. Mountains and valleys surround this place with dazzling mount Guntur located in the north and mount Cikuray on the other side. In the south, you can view mount Galunggung that height 2.167 meters. Furthermore, You can also easily find rice fields in many areas.

I used to live in Jakarta with all the modern things that build the city. Towers, buildings, wide roads, malls, stations are located in every corner of the capital. I love seeing these things because it is my cup of tea.

When I moved to Garut, I felt bored in the beginning because there are no big malls in Garut. Nevertheless, cafes and coffee shops are almost located everywhere. Within one year, 3 cafes were opened just near my neighborhood. Surprisingly, cafes and coffee shops here are always full, primarily on weekends, whether visited by locals or from people outside of town. Seems that market for hang-out places like cafes is good here.

After 1,5 years living in Garut, something makes up my mind. Garut provides something different which wins me for its nature. Here, I find joy and calm that I didn’t find living in Jakarta. I think, living here for another 3–4 years is not a bad idea. Just to refresh our own self from the luxury-hustled-great city. Namaste!

One of the view in front of my terrace :)
View in front of my terrace :)

--

--